Beth N. Rom-Rymer, PhD

Beth N. Rom-Rymer, PhD, serves as a member of the Board of Directors of APA; Chair (2019) of the APA Council Leadership Team; and the President and co-founder of the Illinois Association of Prescribing Psychologists. Dr. Rom-Rymer has been adjunct lecturer at The University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry; a guest lecturer at the Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science; a lecturer at the Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology; and the vice-chairwoman of education section of International Psychologists Society (IPS); and a guest lecturer at Chicago’s Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry.

She has chaired and served several governance positions on multiple Caucuses of APA Council, including Education and Training, Public Interest, Healthcare/Health Science, and Women’s. Dr. Rom-Rymer was a 6-year member of the APA Finance Committee; served as President of the APA Division of Pharmacotherapy (55) and the APA Division of Trauma (56), in addition to other governance roles in those Divisions. Dr. Rom-Rymer has served two terms as the President of the Illinois Psychological Association and spearheaded the successful IPA’s prescriptive authority legislative movement. She continues to lead the implementation of the prescriptive authority legislation in Illinois while consulting with states throughout the country on similar legislative initiatives.

Dr. Rom-Rymer is a co-founder of Refuge House in Tallahassee, Florida, a shelter for women and children, that celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2018. Dr. Rom-Rymer works as a clinician in Chicago and as a forensic expert witness in civil litigation in her national consulting practice. Dr. Rom-Rymer was recently awarded the Chicago Social Impact Leader Award from The Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Throughout her 40+ year career, she has worked to create training and practice opportunities for prescribing and non-prescribing psychologists in public service venues. She was awarded the National Register’s 2016 Alfred M. Wellner, PhD, Lifetime Achievement Award; the Karl F. Heiser APA Presidential Award for Advocacy (2015); the APA Presidential Citation for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Professional Psychology (2015), among many other awards.